9th International Sculpture Symposium of Saint-Georges

From May 21 to June 11, 2023

 

Carving the Wind: Statures and Figures

INVITATION TO SCULPTORS

 

The 9th edition of the International Sculpture Symposium of Saint-Georges will be held from May 21 to June 11, 2023. The sculptures will be displayed along the bike path of the Redmond Promenade, a follow-up to the 2022 edition. This location is clearly different from the one originally suggested by Beauce Art. Therefore, the artistic and technical committee invites all sculptors to draw their inspiration from the theme reviewed on October 11, 2022. See details below.

Sculptors have until December 15, 2022 to submit a project. The jury will select ten (10) participants based on the quality and originality of the projects submitted, their connection, the feasibility and durability of the artworks, and the compliance with the amount allocated for materials (provided by Beauce Art and valued up to CDN $5,000).

 

To know the obligations of the sculptors and the conditions of reception proposed by Beauce Art, please consult the conditions of participation.

The duration of the symposium is 21 days, of which 18 days are used to work on the sculptures, including installation. By submitting his application, the artist commits himself to realize his work on site, within the time frame provided. He/she masters the technique(s) used and commits to interacting and exchanging with the visitors while working on the piece. The work must be done safely.

 

For this edition, the authorized materials are the following:

  • Metals: stainless steel, corten steel and aluminum
  • Granite and other stones to be confirmed
  • Composite materials: fiberglass

 

If you have any questions, please send them by email to info@beauceart.com.

Thank you for your interest in Beauce Art | L’international de sculptures.

THEME

 

CARVING THE WIND: STATURES AND FIGURES

Short version

 

Carving the wind in harmony with its stature and its elongated form asks the artists to go out of themselves. To go out of oneself is the first gesture of creation. It is then enough to sculpt with wide open eyes and forever frozen in life. Carving the wind is like a hurricane that awakens in all its wind power and sculpts findings, memories and fissures deep within oneself.

 

Be inspired and design:

  • Wind from within oneself;
  • Wind from outside yourself: flora, fauna, water and cosmos;
  • Wind of historical tradition and/or magical contemplation.

 

Wind without taboos!

Long version

 

For the 9th edition, Beauce Art : L’international de sculptures is organizing a symposium focused on wind, figuration and stature. To sculpt the wind is to penetrate into an art of signalling and an art of alignment, and most of all, into the universality of art.

 

Aeos, the god of wind, was even portrayed by Leonardo da Vinci. The artistic history of wind is a long history of extraordinary and energizing representation. The magnificence of the wind is inspirational with its power and strength.

 

The wind is a protective symbol of individuals, often represented by an animal, a plant or objects considered to protect individuals or mythical ancestors. The wind theme is one of the most original aspects of our culture.

 

Sculpting the spirit of the wind will allow sculptors to explore the purely eolian dimension of creation, and to introduce the representativeness of our contemporary society in its electronic hyperconnectivity and the new technologies of artificial intelligence (AI). Thus we demonstrate a signalling of the interconnectivity of the power of the natural universality of the wind.

 

The wind sacralizes the subject represented by the sculptor; the wind is a monument of imagination and sensation and points to the inimitability between real space and the sacred space of art. It is like a talisman evoking our vanquished, a powerful protesting self-suggestion.

 

Undeniably, a wind theme is universal and relates to the world to re-enchant nature; the stature and figure of the wind will demonstrate the embrace of cultures in the heart of our city and all citizens of the Beauce, Quebec and Canada.

 

The 2023 theme includes a kind of utopia that is both whimsical and plausible: it visually communicates a sculptor’s thoughts on the possibility of a world more sensitive to its natural environment. In other words, each sculptor’s artistic response to the wind’s grip has less to do with representation and more with grasping the site in the wind.

 

2023 under the sun of a freedom that listens to the figurative powers of the wind, with light and happy hearts! Let’s follow the wind and sculpt! Wind is life!

 

Theme written and presented by Joseph-Richard Veilleux, artistic director, on October 11, 2022.

DESCRIPTION OF THE SITE

The site of this edition is the continuity of the 2022 site, between the sculpture of Gilles Pedneault and the end of Promenade Redmond. The urban environment borders the eastern side of the site, and on the western side, the Chaudière River extends in all its splendor and flows along a green wooded area.

Concretely, the sculptures will be installed in a narrow strip of green space of one meter wide, bordered by a bicycle path and a parking lot. The parking lot is served by a one-way road along its entire length. As the ground space is limited, the sculptures must be thoughtful and sketched in height.

REGISTRATION

Here is a list of the documents you need to send to apply.

*All files must be identified with the name of the sculptor.

Please send all documents in one package to info@beauceart.com using WeTransfer.

Any file deemed incomplete will not be considered.

  • Application form;
  • Acceptance of the conditions of participation 2023;
  • Biography (150 words maximum, in .doc format);
  • Artistic approach (150 words maximum, in .doc format);
  • Curriculum vitae (3 pages maximum, in .doc format);
  • Sketch of the project or good resolution photos of the model from 3 different angles;
  • Maintenance estimate for the artwork;
  • Sketch with dimensions and anchoring of the base of the sculpture;
  • 10 photos of previous works (pay attention to the quality of resolution of the photos);
  • One black and white photo of the artist showing their face: approximately 3,000 x 4,000 pixels.

Any questions?
Contact us!

    Learn more about
    the edition of 2022

    Contribute to
    art with us!

INVITATION AUX SCULPTEURS

 

La 9e édition du Symposium international de sculptures de Saint-Georges se tiendra du 21 mai au 11 juin 2023. Les sculptures seront installées dans le prolongement de l’édition 2022, le long de la piste cyclable longeant la Promenade Redmond. Cet emplacement étant nettement différent du lieu pressenti initialement par Beauce Art, le comité artistique et technique invite les sculpteurs à s’inspirer de la thématique revisitée en date du 11 octobre 2022 et détaillée ici-bas:

Les sculpteurs ont jusqu’au 15 décembre 2022 pour soumettre un projet. Le jury choisira les dix (10) participants en fonction de la qualité et l’originalité des projets soumis, leur relation avec le thème de l’édition, la faisabilité, la pérennité des oeuvres et le respect du montant alloué pour les matériaux (fournis par Beauce Art et d’une valeur maximale de 5 000 $ CAD).

 

Pour connaître les obligations des artisans sculpteurs et les conditions d’accueil proposées par Beauce Art, veuillez consulter les conditions de participation.

La durée du symposium est de 21 jours, dont 18 jours sont employés à travailler sur les sculptures, installation comprise dans le délai. En déposant sa candidature, l’artiste s’engage à réaliser son œuvre sur place, dans les délais prévus. Il maitrise la (les) technique(s) utilisées(s) et s’engage à interagir et à échanger avec les visiteurs tout en effectuant son travail. L’œuvre réalisée doit être sécuritaire.

 

Pour cette édition, les matériaux autorisés sont les suivants :

  • Métaux : acier inoxydable, acier corten et aluminium
  • Pierres : granit, calcaire et marbre
  • Matériaux composites : fibre de verre

 

Si vous avez des questions, adressez-les par courriel à info@beauceart.com.

Merci de votre intérêt envers Beauce Art | L’international de sculptures.

THÉMATIQUE

SCULPTER LE VENT : STATURES ET FIGURES

Version courte

 

Sculpter le vent dans sa stature et sa figuration longiligne, c’est sortir de soi. Sortir de soi est le premier geste de création. Ensuite il suffit de savoir sculpter les yeux ouverts et à jamais figés dans la vie. Sculpter le vent, c’est comme un ouragan qui se réveille dans toute sa puissance éolienne et qui sculpte des constats des mémoires et des cassures au plus profond de soi.

 

Inspirez-vous et concevez :

  • Vent du dedans de soi
  • Vent du dehors de soi : flore, faune, eau et cosmos.
  • Vent de tradition historique et/ou de contemplation magique;

 

Vent sans tabous!

Version longue

 

Pour la 9e édition, Beauce Art : L’international de sculptures organise un symposium axé sur le vent, la figuration et l’effet stature. Sculpter le vent, c’est pénétrer dans un art de signalisation et un art d’alignement et surtout dans l’universalité de l’art.

 

Éos le dieu du vent a été représenté même par Léonard de Vinci; l’histoire artistique du vent est une longue histoire de représentation extraordinaire et énergisante. La magnificence du vent est inspirante, tout en puissance et en force.

 

Le vent est un symbole protecteur d’individus, souvent représenté par un animal, une plante ou des objets considérés protégés des individus ou des ancêtres mythiques. La thématique du vent est un des aspects les plus originaux de notre culture.

 

Sculpter l’esprit du vent va permettre aux sculpteurs d’explorer la dimension purement éolienne de la création, et d’y introduire la représentativité de notre société contemporaine dans son hyperconnectivité électronique et les nouvelles technologies de l’intelligence artificielle (IA). Ainsi nous démontrons une signalisation de l’interconnectivité du pouvoir de l’universalité naturelle du vent.

 

Le vent sacralise le sujet représenté par le sculpteur; le vent est un monument d’imagination et de sensations et pointe l’inimité entre l’espace réel et l’espace sacré de l’art. C’est comme un talisman évoquant notre vaincu, une autosuggestion contestatrice tout en puissance.

 

Indéniablement, une thématique sur le vent est universelle et elle a rapport au monde pour réenchanter la nature; la stature et la figure du vent démontreront l’embrassade des cultures au cœur de notre ville et de tous les citoyens de la Beauce, du Québec et du Canada.

 

Le thème 2023 inclut une sorte d’utopie à la fois fantaisiste et vraisemblable; communiquant visuellement la pensée d’un sculpteur sur la possibilité d’émergence d’un monde plus sensible à son environnement naturel. Autrement dit, la réponse artistique de chaque sculpteur sur l’emprise du vent à moins à voir avec la représentation qu’avec l’appréhension du site au grand vent.

 

2023 sous le soleil d’une liberté à l’écoute des pouvoirs de figuration du vent, le cœur en l’air! Soyons dans le vent et sculptons! Le vent c’est la vie!

 

Thématique écrite et présentée par Joseph-Richard Veilleux, directeur artistique, le 11 octobre 2022.

DESCRIPTION DU SITE

DESCRIPTION DU SITE

Le site de cette édition est la continuité du site 2022, entre la sculpture de Gilles Pedneault et la fin de la promenade Redmond. Le milieu urbain borde le côté est du site, et du côté ouest, la rivière Chaudière s’étend dans toute sa splendeur et coule le long d’un boisé verdoyant.

 

Concrètement, les sculptures seront installées dans une étroite bande de verdure de 1 mètre de largeur bordée d’une piste cyclopédestre et d’autre part, d’un stationnement. Le stationnement est desservi par une route à sens unique sur sa pleine longueur. Comme l’espace au sol est restreint, les sculptures se doivent d’être réfléchies et esquissées en hauteur.

REGISTRATION

Voici la liste des documents à faire parvenir pour déposer un dossier de candidature.

*Tous les fichiers doivent être identifiés en incluant le nom du sculpteur.

Nous vous prions de faire parvenir l’ensemble des documents demandés dans un seul envoi à info@beauceart.com en utilisant WeTransfer.

Tout dossier jugé incomplet ne sera pas considéré.

  • Fiche d’inscription;
  • Acceptation des conditions de participation;
  • Biographie (maximum 150 mots, en format .doc) ;
  • Démarche artistique (maximum 150 mots, en format .doc) ;
  • Curriculum vitae (maximum 3 pages, en format .doc) ;
  • Croquis du projet ou photos de bonne résolution de la maquette présentant 3 angles différents;
  • Devis d’entretien pour l’œuvre ;
  • Croquis avec dimension et ancrage de la base de la sculpture ;
  • 10 photos d’œuvres antérieures (portez une attention à la qualité de résolution des photos);
  • Une photo en noir et blanc de l’artiste montrant le visage : environ 3000 x 4000 pixels

Vous avez des questions?
Contactez-nous!

    Découvrez
    la dernière édition

    Contribuez à l’art,
    avec nous!